White “Chicken” Chili

I recently purchased the cookbook “Vegan Cooking for Carnivores” which is written by the Chef who cooks for Ellen DeGeneres and Portia de Rossi. We have decided in our home that we want to start eating less meat and this book seems like a good way to start! I am going to blog about some of the recipes we try and let you know how it goes!

The first recipe we tried was Teena’s Famous White Bean Chili on page 126 of the book. It was slightly spicy and creamy and tasted amazing! I had to make a couple of substitutions. I could not find the cheese that the recipe refers to so I had to use what I already have in the fridge. I am not a vegan, so I used light marble cheddar. I would not recommend this. The next time I make this I will find the cheese used or omit it altogether. I also could not find Gardein Chick’n’Scallopini so I used again what I had in the fridge which was Presidents Choice Blue Menu Vegetarian Scallopine. This wasn’t bad but I will use non-breaded “chicken” next time.

I am not a vegetarian but I am contemplating it right now. I figure I will start with small changes and see where that takes me. I like the thought of becoming a vegetarian beacuse of the way animals are treated and the because of the impact eating meat has on the environment.

I am excited to try more recipes from this cookbook. Everything looks delicious and easy to make. I purchased it for the iPad and it was only $12.99 CAD.

Here are some links to other recipes for Vegetarian White Chili, if you haven’t tried this before, you really should!

Vegetarian White Chili with optional Chicken

Vegan Slow Cooker White Chili

Vegan White “Chicken” Chili Recipe

2 thoughts on “White “Chicken” Chili

Leave a Reply

